IttyBitty Blog

The world according to Andrea

good mom

on March 21, 2010

From a very young age I dreamed of being a good mom.  I would think about all of the things that I’d do with and for my children.  I would often hear stories from friends and acquaintances and get good ideas and plans for my future kids.  I also wanted to keep some of the fun things that my own mom and dad did with and for me.

Sometimes I get around to being the “good mom”, and sometimes I don’t.  One of the things that I always wanted to do was to pretend that leprechauns had come to our house, leaving little leprechaun footprints that lead to a pot of gold for St. Patrick’s Day.  This was a story that a friend had told me years ago.  I thought it would be so cute.  I finally got around to fulfilling this tradition with my kids this year.

On a normal morning, it takes at least 10 minutes to pry them out of bed, but not today!  They shot right outta there and eagerly followed the footprints to find their treats.  Tessa was convinced that there was a leprechaun still in our house and continued to search for him all day long and for a couple days afterward.

After getting dressed for the day, I treated them to clover-shaped green pancakes and green apple juice for breakfast.  They loved it and I went to work that day pretty proud of myself for making their day special.  It’s definitely something I’ll need to start doing every year.

Leave a Reply

